View previous topic :: View next topic   Goto page 1, 2  Next
Gerron Vek

re: Tales from the 7th Fleet - Episode 1

Ok this is a new series I am trying out. I'm still learning some of the tools used to create these kinds of videos so comments are welcome. Special thanks to Augerson for helping me out on short notice.

Oh, and apparently there is already a show called Captain's log so I want to change the name. Any ideas? I temporarily changed it to Tales from the 7th Fleet but I'm not sold on that name.

Anton Mercer
Engineering - Captain

Awarded:

I like the concept, but may I suggest starting with the actual Foundry missions from 7th members? That way your title "Tales from the 7th Fleet" will actually fit and you could make it a mini series before going on to other foundry missions. We have the Master Foundry List:
http://www.fleet7.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=6913308&gid=84053
which you can use to easily find our members missions Happy

Also, I do not know if you are aware of the DemoRecord feature that is present in STO. It's what Shack, myself, Lang, and a few others use to make most if not all the videos that are on the site. I created a guide for it( though a little outdated, but still giving the basics: camera movement, how to get to it and edit it, and such) here:
Part 1:

Part2:

(linked the actual player in case people want to watch them)

This tool will help alot with your first portion or "mission runthrough" and will actually let you take parts or sequences instead of having to do the whole mission through fraps. Hope this helps and can't wait for the next one!

Awarded:

I like it, well done! Best advice I can give you is keep doing it; it gets easier and you learn more as you go along. Using Fraps (or other recorder) is a good starting point, and if you can get into demorecord, it's a great tool.

I'm going to move this thread into a different forum so it doesn't get lost.